Leadership Education

HST 110L

 •Reflecting on my time in History 110L about Immigration•

This class was Monday nights from 3:30 until 6:20… a three-hour lecture on immigration. History 110L is a class about the American Experience and it is a Writing Intensive Course. Now don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy history and learning about our past, but I was very nervous/not thrilled about having a three-hour history lecture because lectures can get very boring. However, I think our teacher did a pretty good job at keeping the class going and mixing things up with something different once in awhile. Overall, HST 110L turned out to be more than I expected and I learned some very interesting information about immigration.

In our class, we learned about Immigration in America. Being that this class was a writing intensive course, we have multiple papers to write and a group project. The group project was where I learned the most from this class because it was on leaders who were also immigrants to America. Working  with Ethan Petzold and Ryan Timm, I learned about Madeleine Albright. This intelligent and strong lady was the first woman to serve as  Secretary of State for the United States. Born in 1937 in the Czech Madeleine-1120x600-ARepublic, the rise of Hitler forced Madeleine and her family to flee the country when she was very young. After living in Britain, a short return to Czechoslovakia, and time in Yugoslavia where her father served as the Czech Ambassador,  the family finally ended up in the United States where Madeleine attended school and eventually started her career in politics. Today we see Madeleine Albright as a strong female presence in politics who fights for women’s rights along with other causes. As a  mother of three daughters, Madeleine juggled family, education, career, and service and did so with grace and perseverance. During our research, I discovered some killer Madeleine Albright quotes.  She had memorable things to say that still ring true today.

After taking this history class, I want to learn more about leaders who immigrated. Whether a leader who immigrated to America or another country, I find it fascinating how they become so influential in their new country, while carrying with them the lessons and experiences from the country they left. Furthermore, I want to investigate how they become leaders in the country they immigrated to. What pushed that specific person to become a leader and how did they achieve their goals?  Another topic I want to learn more about because of this class and the current turmoil in our country, is different immigration exclusions. I wrote one of my essays on the Chinese Exclusion Act. My findings about this Act were very interesting and informative on current situation in the United States.

Leave a Reply

