Community

Getting Ready to Welcome the Newest Member of the Fam

{My Ideas about being a Mentor}

When thinking about being a mentor, I get a little bit nervous. My mentor, Em (in the picture above), is literally the most wonderful mentor and human so how will I ever live up to that for mine? But then I remember that through Em, I have learned how to be such a fabulous mentor. As a mentor, I want to be someone my mentee can always turn to and I want to always be there for her. I will let her make her own mistakes but be there to help her fix them \ and help her not make the same mistake again. Also, I hope to be my mentee’s friend, to be someone they can ask anything, and to be there to help her adjust to college and deal with all of the struggles that may come her way. All of these are things Emily has done for me. She has helped so much this past year and now I want to do the same for my mentee. Overall, I want my mentee to have a fabulous experience at CMU and I want to help her achieve that.

To help build on my ideas of being a mentor, I attended a workshop in LDR 200 specifically about being the most effective mentor. During the workshop we broke off into groups and talked about what we wished we would have known coming into college, what ways we can help our mentees, and what we want them to get out of their time at Central. For me, the workshop cemented my ideas about who I want to be for my mentee. Also, we talked about what we want for our mentee and helping them find their passion whether it is in their major, Greek Life, volunteering, or anything else Central has to offer. I believe that helping my mentee find her passion or even just something she loves is super important. I want to help her find her place here at CMU. Emily helped me find my love for things like Greek Life and it has changed me so much so I want the same for my mentee.

{How I am preparing to be the most effective Mentor}

I would lie if I said I wasn’t pinteresting cute gifts for her, so that is one thing I am doing in preparation of becoming a mentor. Other than that, I am talking to my mentor about fun family adventures we can go on because I want her to love and know her G. Also, I am making sure I know random things about the University like where the Registrar’s office is, how to sign a minor, and where you can get the best food. I want to be a resource for my mentee because I know how hard and confusing coming to college can be. With that, I am preparing myself by becoming a human resource, a good friend, and a person my mentee can trust.

{What I am most excited about}

I am most excited to have another wonderful human in my life and for the journey we will travel together. Also, I am excited to see my mentee grow and flourish at Central because it is such a fabulous thing to see someone fall in love with college and grow into who they are meant to become there. All in all though, I am excited for everything with my mentee. I will be there for all of their highs and lows and everything in between. It is the little moments that mean the most and those are the moments I can not wait for. 

{A few things I want my Mentee to know}

  • Do your research about textbooks before buying all of them at the bookstore, even if that means you rent books from the bookstore instead of buying them.
  • You will find your place at CMU. Sometimes you just have to look and it may take time BUT it is out there.
  • Being homesick is a normal thing & it really sucks sometimes.
  • You probably hear this all the time but you will change in college, probably more than you think, but change is good.
  • Being a part of the LI you will constantly be busy plus you will have other clubs and homework so multiply your high school business by 5 and that will be your college business. BUT don’t fret it is okay to be busy
  • You need to be organized at all times. Professors will not always remind you when you have quizzes or papers so get a planner and write everything down.
  • Being involved around campus is one of the best things you can do for yourself. With the RSO’s you join, you will meet amazing people and have awesome experiences so don’t be afraid to put yourself out there
  • Second semester sucks more than first semester. This is when you are out of the honeymoon phase and going to a senioritis phase. But if you have a strong support group and stay organized everything will be ok
  • Pace yourself… I did say get involved above but that does not mean you need to join 500 different clubs. Join one or two at a time and see how much you can handle because school does come first, especially when you’re paying so much for it.
Leave a Reply

