Community

Grilled Cheese

•A blog in honor of National Grilled Cheese Day•

Every semester the Central chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau has a two-day Grilled Cheese fundraiser for our philanthropy, Pine Mountain Settlement School. The sister who plans and makes everything happen is the Director of Fundraising, which was me this year {YAY}. When applying for this position I knew I wanted to make it into more. Ultimately my goal was to do a philanthropy week like many of the other Greek Life chapters do around campus. So, when I got the position, I was super excited and decided to set out to do Alpha Sigma Tau’s first ever philanthropy week. I worked on the plans for months trying to think of the best activities but also the ones that would get the most people involved. Finally, after months the week was here and it was time to see if all my hard work would pay off. When it was finally here, I was super nervous but also excited to see if my plans would actually work!

{Monday} Day one was a Banner making contest for all of the Fraternities on campus. Basically, each chapter received a cloth banner from me and had to decorate it. On the banner had to be AST or Alpha Sigma Tau, the fraternity letters, and the dates/times of our Grilled Cheese fundraiser. The results were phenomenal and I was blown away with how creative some of the chapter were. Also, at this point I was super excited because my plan was working and my idea of a philanthropy week was actually coming to life!

{Tuesday} Day two had two parts. The first part of the day was a twitter contest. This included the brothers of each fraternity taking pictures with my sisters and posting them on twitter with their specific hashtag. To make it easy to find us and support our philanthropy, I had philanthropy shirts made so every sister in AST matched! Later that night, after the twitter contest, I put on the first ever Anchorman Pageant. The pageant was based on the popular comedy Anchorman which is about San Diego News Anchor Ron Burgundy. Participants had to compete in a suite and hair portion, Q&A portion, and news reading portions. For me, this part of the week was my favorite, because so many people were actually coming out and participating in the events I was hosting and because the pageant was truly hilarious.

{Wednesday & Thursday} Days three and four were all about the food. Both of these days were our Grilled Cheese fundraisers with unlimited Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup. The fundraiser took place at our AST house and we packed so many people into our tiny house but it was well worth it. Furthermore, on Thursday night at midnight we had our Grilled Cheese eating contest where our reigning champ was beaten by his little. Both nights went magnificent and I even ran out of most food because we had such a good turn out. These two days, no matter how stressful, I felt so blessed to be apart of CMU and the Greek Community because of the immense support AST was receiving.

Overall, this year we raised more money than years prior which was a huge success for me. Also, another big success was putting on our first philanthropy week especially with how well it ended up going. Thinking back on the week of Grilled Cheese, I could not have pulled off any of this without my amazing sisters. The women in my chapter are and were especially that week some of the most helpful, compassionate, and loving people in the world. So thank you to all my sisters and thank you to everyone who came out and supported us! ♥

Happy National Grilled Cheese Day!

Leave a Reply

