Leadership Development

My Why Statement

Simon Sinek Ted Talk : How Great Leaders Inspire Action • LDR 200 Reflection

This lovely blog is about a Ted Talk we watched in class. Simon Sinek is the speaker and it is entitled How Great Leaders Inspire Action. Overall, it is about how leaders create action in their groups and how they inspire their followers. He talks in the podcast about the way people or companies display things using the what, how, and why model or the GImage result for how great leaders inspire action simon sinekolden Circle. Sinek goes on to explain that throughout the world people or companies convey ideas and products in the order of what, how, and why which is the normal everyday bland way to do things. However, places that really get people to do things or buy there products are the ones that do the system “inside out” so why, how, what. People do not care about what you’re doing, they care more about why you are doing it. From there, Sinek goes into explaining that the ‘golden circle’ is actually apart of biology and that each section of the circle is part of the brain. When people take from the inside out you’re talking to the part of the brain that is in charge of behaviors. Furthermore, he gives the audience examples of companies that do this such as Apple. Lastly, if you would like to watch this wonderful video press the blue Ted Talk above and it will take you to the link {YAY}.

Through this video I leaned how to be a great leader and inspire my followers. Although he may talked about companies like Apple he related it and we can relate it to our everyday lives and our own leadership. In order to be a good leader you need to be passionate about what you are doing and you need to understand your why statement. If you personally do not know your why statement no one else will know it and they will not be as motivated to follow you. If you start with why you can get people hooked and inspire them to do something amazing. 

Below is my “Why Statement” which is a statement that displays why I do what I do and what I want to gain from my involvements. It is something I strive to live by each and every day and now I will be able to literally see it whenever I need a reminder of what my purpose is and what My Why is. Also, we went in-depth on our five core values and what they mean to us as individuals. {My five core values are acceptance, Compassion, Leadership, Trust, and Respect.} Additionally my number 1 value is Respect because especially in today it is extremely important to respect one another. As a leader you need to respect your followers so they can in turn respect you. Finally, from watching this Ted Talk I will now live by my Why Statement and my core values. I have all of them written down to remind myself when I struggle. I will be able to remind myself the values I strive to live by in my everyday life and continue living them even when I falter. 

My why Statement: {Inspire others too make a positive impact on the world, love fearlessly, and find their true passions}

You may be asking yourself “Now What” are you going to do with this WHY statement? Well, now I will live, learn, and lead by my statement. This statement will forever be a reminder of why I am here fulling my passions. Now I want to do everything by this statement to everyone in my community can also understand WHY. Also, now I was to dig deeper and go further with my WHY. A few ways I can do this are going to Leadershape through the Leadership Institute and other conferences. I want to further develop this statement and make it something I can use for the rest of my life. I want to go out into the world and inspire others which exactly what I am going to do ♥

 

 Image result for how great leaders inspire action simon sinek

Leave a Reply

