Community

Current Leader Reflection

Michelle Obama • A Wonderful First Lady

One of my personal role models, our former First Lady Michelle Obama stands out among leaders. Throughout her eight years as First Lady and her life overall, she displayed first-class leadership and has done so much not only for our country but for many other countries as well. As a young women, it’s been a privilege to grow up watching Mrs. Obama and hear her message that I too, could be a leader.

Several leadership qualities make Michelle Obama truly stand out. These include displaying respect, being dedicated, communicating effectively, and motivating or inspiring others. As First Lady, Michelle Obama engaged respectfully with the people of our nation and others no matter what their beliefs and values are. She accepted that people do not always agree with her while also staying true to her our values. Also, she is extremely dedicated to everything she does. During her time as First Lady, Michelle Obama dedicated herself to ending childhood obesity and founded Let’s Move! While facing criticism at times for urging schools to provide healthier lunches for students, she remained dedicated to the cause. Mrs. Obama is a clear, effective communicator and her speeches often went viral on the internet reaching millions of viewers. One resounding line from a speech during the 2016 Presidential campaign was, “When they go low, we go high”. Finally, she motivates and inspires others and this truly makes her a great leader. Michelle Obama especially reached out to inspire girls, encouraging them to get educated, stay focused, and know that they can aspire to great things. Together with her husband, she launched “Let Girls Learn”, an initiative that calls on countries around the world to educate and empower girls. “Every girl, no matter where she lives, deserves the opportunity to develop the promise inside of her” and “When girls are educated, their countries become stronger and more prosperous” are just two of the many inspiring statements by Michelle Obama. These qualities are only some of what makes Michelle Obama a phenomenal leader but I believe they are some of her strongest leadership qualities. Furthermore, these leadership qualities and her true humility motivate others to follow her.

Michelle Obama is always full of grace and kindness which is something people seek in a leader. Because of her graciousness people flock to her and actually want to follow her not out of fear but out of inspiration and respect. As First Lady, Mrs. Obama always wanted to hear from the people and was often known for giving hugs. Her leadership has spread throughout the globe to touch so many people whether through equal rights, education, or healthy lifestyles. Michelle has displayed true leadership and has positively affected so many people around her, even her approval ratings remained around 70%.

What do I admire about Michelle Obama’s leadership? The answer quite honestly may be everything. She is full of self-respect and respect for others which I also strive for in my daily life. Also, Michelle always displays style and grace wherever she goes. Furthermore, I admire that she has not only one but TWO IVY League degrees because she believes in furthering her education. Michelle is also a fabulous mother of two girls close to my age who have grown up in the White House but are still both down to Earth and humble because of their parents. Finally, as many women my age, I love that she is also a style icon for the world, while often wearing clothing from common, affordable stores. However, unlike so many people today, she is classy and tasteful with her style and someone young girls can look up to not just clothing wise but leadership wise as well.

Michelle Obama’s leadership has effected me in many positive ways especially since I have basically grown up with her being an icon for Americans. First, I am much more passionate about the things I believe in after watching her for years. I will speak my voice about gay rights, women’s rights, and how human rights are everyone’s rights no matter what gender or race. I now strive to have the same grace and humility while also being a strong woman because of Michelle Obama. Also, because of her I am a leader who respects others and respects myself. Finally, I am a young woman who is going to college to further my education and while some days I feel as though I may not be smart enough, Michelle Obama’s drive and passion always keep me going because someday I want to be a Speech Pathologist who fights for equal education so everyone can “develop the promise inside” them.

{Quotes from Michelle Obama}

“I never cut class. I loved getting A’s, I liked being smart. I liked being on time. I thought being smart is cooler than anything in the world.”

“I think being smart is cooler than anything in the world.”

“Success isn’t about how much money you make, it’s about the difference you make in people’s lives.”

“There are still many causes worth sacrificing for, so much history yet to be made.”

“You should never view your challenges as a disadvantage. Instead, it’s important for you to understand that your experience facing and overcoming adversity is actually one of your biggest advantages.”

“Every day, the people I meet inspire me… every day, they make me proud… every day they remind me how blessed we are to live in the greatest nation on earth.”

“If proud Americans can be who they are and boldly stand at the altar with who they love then surely, surely we can give everyone in this country a fair chance at that great American Dream.”

“My desire for this country is that we remain hopeful and that we find a place in our hearts to love each other.”

{Here are some lovely pictures of our Former First Lady}

Image result for michelle obamaImage result for michelle obama

Image result for michelle obama

Leave a Reply

