Leadership Training

Leadership Safari

Leadership Safari  was the very first thing I participated in as a Freshman in college. This experience was honestly the most amazing way to start out the next big chapter in my life. So here are a few things about my week at Leadership Safari…

We began with moving my two car loads of things into my dorm room where for the next 4 hours my family, my roommimg_1934ates, and their families would set up our dorm room. Then we said goodbyes to our parents (mine was a bit tearful) and the four of us were officially on our own. Later that evening we listened to a speaker and met our safari group for the first time. I was a part of the Mantis Mob, within this group there were 10 incoming freshman, including myself, and our Safari guide Jazzy. Throughout the week we worked individually, got to know campus, and did team building exercises together. On to the a few of my favorite activities I got to participate in!

First on Sunday morning I got to take a Zumba class (which I highly recommend). Zumba class was SO much fun and it was a great way to start out my first week at CMU. The instructors were super fun and they picked the best music and really the experience was awesome, plus I got a work out in! Another one of my favorite activities was the trust fall on day two. Personally I hate the feeling of falling and I do not like heights, BUT I img_1936still di
d it and this also helped form bonds within my Sarafi group and we began to trust one another a lot more. It was super cool to see the effect of the fall on everyone and you could really see us come together more as a group. Next, one of the activities that impacted me the most was the poetry slam. Here everyone at Safari got to listen to two guys called the Asia
Project. Their performance displayed/evoked so

many emotions including happiness, sadness, and frustration. Asia’s img_1889poems were astounding and he just seemed to have a way with words. From the audience you could truly see the emotions as they poured through his words. Finally, the last activity I will talk about is one of the presentations I attended on the last day. It was my second one of the day and still pretty early in the morning but it was one of the best presentations and presentor I have ever seen, and I have been to quite a few presentations. I went to “The Ripples Guy” or Paul Wesselmann and he was incredibly inspiring. The stories he told and the way he presented in general was very relatable and interesting which I enjoyed and he had so much positive energy which flowed out.

Finally, here are two of the biggest things I learned throughout the week. Number one was definitely how important communication is. I know it is said all the time especially in leadership activities but really it is one of the most crucial things in leadership. Without communication nothing will work and ultimately nothing will get done. The second thing that really stood out to me was learning how to work with a group I had never been with before. This was very difficult for me because I am more of an introverted person and I tend to keep thoughts to myself when I do not know people. However, through the week I began to trust my group more and more and I became more comfortable around them.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

